Skip to content

instant fall honourable mention

October 26, 2010

Thanks to the instant fall contest and the Impossible Project prize pack, October has been the busiest month for visits to the site. We received a lot of great submissions, and of course the judges’ decision is final, but you can see that even they had a difficult time picking favorites,  evidenced by the selection of three winners instead of one.  However, there was one more set of submissions from Russia that have held my attention, so I’m going to share a few more images. Alexey Kurbatov submitted three of my favorites – no surprise considering my love of Polaroid manipulations – here’s the one I would have chosen:

I guess this shouldn’t be too much of a shock; a maple leaf is usually a great way to subtly get a Canadian’s attention. Alexey created his images using a Polaroid SX-70 and original Time-Zero film (expired in 2006). He tells me that he waited about 5 to 10 hours before applying SX-70 manipulation techniques. He has been very successful in achieving the oft desired painterly Impressionism effect. Here are a couple more:

…you can find more of Alexey’s work here and here. (I wish I could read Russian)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

