Skip to content

waiting to be found

March 31, 2010

I was wandering around the internet as I am prone to do, searching for something of which I was not yet aware. This is what many of us are wont to do; it is a habit, for good or ill, that I have developed and I surmise that you have too. If you are here, I suspect my accusation is not too far off the mark. You are much like I. We are wiredwanderers; only that is not as cool as you wish it was. We click from here to here to here to there. Then you click on this, and I click on that. Aimlessly navigating a world wide web of free association. Starting somewhere familiar and traveling from varying degree to varying degree of (un)familiarity; searching, finding, reading, looking, scrolling, clicking, clicking, delaying, procrastinating yet telling yourself that this is something worthwhile. If you are a good liar, you convinceĀ  yourself that this is important and productive. What are you doing? I think rationally as I behave irrationally; I need to stop this. But. Wait.

We are looking for something, even though we do not know what it is.

I know what it is.

I am looking to find that which is waiting to be found.

I found “Found” this afternoon. This set of painfully mundane photos of found items was on Ametyst7’s flickr page. Ametyst7 is Mette Norrie is a young artist in Denmark. Mette’s collection of images includes a set called “Found” which includes the following image, which happened to hold my wandering attention just long enough to notice something that was waiting for me.

The original image can be found here.

It appears to be a note that Mette found in an old book. I don’t read or speak Danish, but this found note may say:

“The art of waiting is to focus your mind on something that doesn’t concern what you’re waiting for, an ability which must be trained”

Is that what it is?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:00 am

    seriously amazing!

Leave a Reply

