Skip to content

mephisto muses – month one

February 9, 2010

Yesterday, I very briefly introduced Stephan Kaps (aka mephisto19) as the most recent waiter to join our project. Along with his letter he also sent me some bits of paper and a roll of exposed film. The first bit of paper (of three small squares of paper) had this written on it:

The Art of Waiting
1. It is hard to write in a driving train
2. Waiting in winter is cold
3. I am in a driving train in winter and am waiting to arrive in Brunswick
4. I loaded my holga135 with a nice expired AGFA Portrait160 and started making some shots for the project

The second bit of paper was a continuation:

5. The shots will contain doubles, mostly of trains and stations, cause that is where I wait the longest and the most
6. To avoid the feeling of waiting, I
a) take photographs
b) read
c) do stupid number-games
d) write
7. I like to collect things, like papers.

The third square of paper contained a little concrete poem of sorts:

The text on this small scrap is:

Time
Hours
camEra
stAtion
photogrRaphy
mephisTo19
lomOgraphy
Foolish
Wasted
relAxing
Intense
sTaring
sItting
Nice
borinG

And finally, he included a large piece off of a corporate note pad that may be one of the “number-games” that he mentioned in #6.c)… or maybe it’s a cryptic code for us to solve…?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 12:56 pm

    Can’t wait to see, oh yes I can, I have to, I shall be patient and focused !

Leave a Reply

