Skip to content

a word from our sponsor.

February 7, 2010

If you’ve been reading along so far, you are probably aware that I chose to invite 42 creative-types to collaborate with me this year. Some I chose because I connect with them in a way that is quite odd considering we’ve never met face to face. Others were included because their images always knock my socks off. I tried to invite some who lived in a far-off part of the globe (relative to me, anyway), some who are older, some younger, and some who probably wouldn’t like me much if we spent to much time waiting around in the same room. Some were on my list because they are photographers, some because they are writers, and some because they couldn’t stop being creative if they tried. Some received an invite because they make a living creating beautiful images, some because they don’t make a dime from images but their life wouldn’t be complete without a camera in their pocket. No one on the list was included for just one reason, and many of them knew (or knew of) each other – but I didn’t tell them who else was being invited at first.

A small part of this experience is a certain type of waiting that only I get to experience. I sent out these 42 invitations, not knowing how long I would wait to hear back. Sometimes waiting ends in disappointment. Five of the 42 didn’t reply to my request for their address (way fewer than I expected, actually); four politely declined to participate, for various reasons; twenty have already signed on for the year. Yet, 13 have me in a certain limbo. A rule for the project was that I would not follow up with any invitations. Once the letter was in the mail, the next step was not up to me. I would wait until I received a reply. Sometimes we wait for things that never come. This part is difficult for me – I have been sorely tempted to send a message to some, but I know I must wait.

Sometimes we wait for something, and get even more than we anticipated.

Nic Nichols of Four Corners Dark (your online store for all things toy camera) wanted to do a little more than participate as a contributor, so he offered to sponsor* the project.

*If you are on the list of those who wait, Nic has offered to send you a little gift from Four Corner Store as a way of supporting the project. I’d tell you what it is and when you’ll get it, but you already know that is simply not how we do things around here. You’ll have to wait to find out.

If you want to receive this gift from Four Corner Store, please let me know in the comments or by email, and I will forward your mailing address to Nic. (I will not share your address without your permission.)

For the remaining baker’s dozen of potential collaborators – you still have a chance! Make sure your response ‘interview’ gets to me before the end of February to get in on the prize!

Thanks Nic Nichols and Four Corner Store!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 8:37 pm

    Oh cool! Thanks, Nic.

    Gosh. I’ve yet to run to the post office to send my January submission. Argh!

  2. February 7, 2010 11:16 pm

    awww thanks nic thats awesome! unless it’s just a big dollop of poo then i am not sure how i feel about it, I mean it’s always nice to get something in the post!

  3. February 7, 2010 11:23 pm

    Wow! How exciting! I’d love to receive a package – will he be able to send it all the way to Outer Hebredes, where I live? 🙂

    You definitely have my permission to share my postal address.

    Can’t wait!

  4. livvyjams permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:44 am

    Count me in, and thanks to Nic! And by the way, Nic, got any 124 or 126 film in there? It’s kind of like 110, but more ’60s.

  5. February 8, 2010 9:04 am

    I’m grinning like a cheshire cat, this is soo much fun. I eagerly await a package so please forward my addy to Nic thank you ; 0 ))

  6. February 8, 2010 9:05 am

    That’s great to see that you got a sponsor – and a wonderful one at that! I am, of course, interested in getting the ‘gift’. Looking forward to it! *waits*

  7. February 9, 2010 6:30 am

    wow – that’s very generous of Nic and fourcornersdark.com

    oh – i’m interested in the gift as well. 🙂

  8. February 11, 2010 6:56 pm

    i love nic and i love stuff…so interested in waiting for stuff to send some nic…or vice versa.

  9. Lisa permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:58 pm

    I’d love to recieve a gift 🙂 Always nice!

  10. Stéphane aka vicuña permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:50 pm

    I’m perhaps a bit late…. but I’d really like to receive some surprise gift from four corner’s store… :))))

Trackbacks

  1. still waiting…? « the Art of Waiting

Leave a Reply

