Skip to content

sometimes we wait for nothing.

January 22, 2010

Nearly 6 weeks ago I received a Juror Summons. I have been mentally preparing since then for my February 1st appointment with the jury selection committee. I’ve been wondering how long I will have to wait around in the courthouse that Monday morning. I’ve been curious – how long will the trial last? Will it be a civil case or a criminal case? As the date crept closer I began to make back up plans for work, preparing for the possibility of having to miss a few weeks in a row. I wasn’t at all nervous when I first received the notice, but lately I was beginning to get a little anxious – what if the case was quite complicated? Would I make the right decisions? I wanted to do my part to fulfill my civic duty, but I really couldn’t wait for the whole ordeal to be in the past so I could get on with other things.

Today I received a notice that read:

The jury selection…for which you were summoned as a prospective juror, has been cancelled. Your attendance at court for that purpose is no longer required.

Sometimes we wait for nothing.

Herbert C. Morris is waiting for something in Tujunga, California.

What are you waiting for?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 12:33 am

    I am waiting for a litterary agent to say that my book can be published!

Leave a Reply

