Skip to content

where are you waiting?

January 21, 2010

I once planned to meet up with a friend at a certain time outside of a certain store downtown. This was several years ago, at a time when the only people carrying cell phones were construction supervisors and foreign diplomats. I waited and waited outside of the store. So did she. I found out later that evening that the store had two locations downtown – we weren’t fortunate enough to pick the same location.

While I was waiting, I did absolutely nothing productive or valuable. I worried. I began to simmer. I doubted myself. Was I being patient or foolish? I wasn’t sure how long I should wait.

I can imagine the conversation we would have had, had we owned one of those blunt-weapon-substitute cellular telephones:
“Where are you?”
“I’m waiting for you.”
“Where are you waiting?”
“I’m where I said I would wait.”
“So am I.”
Where are you waiting?”
It might have taken quite a while to get to a useful point in the conversation.

“Where are you waiting?” will be a valid question throughout the next year for Olivia Collette – she hails from Montreal, but you won’t find her there this year…

I purchased my first cell phone almost a year ago – absence certainly made this heart grow fonder. I don’t wait in front of the wrong store quite so long anymore.

One Comment leave one →
  1. livvyjams permalink
    January 21, 2010 8:26 am

    Yay! You got my letter! Now all I need is a cell phone. They’re considered human limbs in Europe…

Leave a Reply

