Skip to content

food for thought, and other edibles

January 14, 2010

It’s only two weeks into my year of waiting, and my eyes and ears have already become finely tuned to pick up every reference, intentional or otherwise, to the art of waiting. I am not vain or naive enough to believe that the name of this project is original and unique – “the art of waiting” is not an uncommon phrase, it just so happened to be an available domain name and relevant to the concept that I wanted to explore. I now find myself – somewhat regularly – scouring the net for references to the art of waiting to glean some inspiration for this year’s work. My findings do tend to fall into a handful of categories, and food is a popular one.

Here are three blogs (completely unrelated to this project) from the first week of 2010 that ruminate on the art of waiting for your food…

I am still receiving responses from waiters, and I will continue to post their initial interviews here, but I am no longer sending 0ut invitations to participate. (Douglas Adams and I both feel that 42 invitations is the exact right amount.)
Many of the participants have let me know that I need to be watching for the mail, and I promise to keep you posted as things arrive…

What are you waiting for?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. livvyjams permalink
    January 15, 2010 5:33 am

    D’oh! Guess that means my letter hasn’t arrived yet. Soon, though. Very soon 🙂

  2. January 15, 2010 8:34 am

    42 is perfect. After all, it is the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything!

  3. dirklancer permalink*
    January 15, 2010 3:45 pm

    Olivia: I’ll be checking my mailbox in about 35 minutes – I can hardly wait!
    Jen: and thanks for all the fish! 😉

  4. January 19, 2010 5:50 pm

    I hope you get my letter soon. I mailed it (I think) last week. All the days start to blur together when you work alternating days an nights.
    I’m so glad I’m not the only one that has found that ‘waiting’ and ‘food’ go hand-in-hand. You’ll see when you get my first essay what I’m talking about. I was beginning to think I was food-obsessed!

Leave a Reply

