Skip to content

I will wait.

January 5, 2010

In the same way that you will frequently notice other cars of the same make and model as your own, I seem to notice the word wait everywhere lately. For obvious reasons I have become acutely conditioned to notice this word over the last couple of months. Just the other day I was uploading some images online and the word waiting appeared in the bottom left corner of the screen…I even felt a little disappointed when the upload was complete and the waiting was over.

During my semi-monthly purge of the spam folder tonight (good times) a couple of the diehards were hanging out with a new friend who stood out from the rest. Maybe she had come around before, but I hadn’t noticed her until now. Standing tall amidst the heavily discounted medical devices aiming to increase my relational devices, the price-gouged wrist watches vying to increase my status among peers, a handful of new usernames and passwords for unpronounceable domains, and a matching pair of cheap software and free Masters degrees, she seemed to be looking right at me. From across the crowded room, er, I mean, um… the crowded inbox…she looked deep into my eyes and she said, “I will wait“.
I quickly hovered and then clicked, and it was amazing how she opened up to me, a complete stranger. Even though her email was cleverly disguised with the name ‘Cherry McFadden’ she bared her soul to me with the following sentences:

Hello! My name is Oksana. and i am from Russia. I found your email and i want to write you. I am searching my real love and looking for a dating in Internet. Probably you are surprised to receive this letter but if you are interesting then you can answer me only to my personal e-mail:  oksanalox@yahoo.com
I will wait…
Oksana

I hope I’m interesting…but how will I know? 😉

Once again, today’s trip to the mailbox was fruitful. Which, around here, has come to mean the list on the Those Who Wait page will grow by at least one.

Our newest waiter included a single phrase in his interview that prompted me to search “the best things come to those who wait” on YouTube. This is the gem that I found:

Stéphane Heinz (like the ketchup) waits with us in French Polynesia. I relished the irony in having to shake the snow off of the envelope as I brought it into the house.

[PS: I find that I have a decision to make at this early stage of the project, and I cannot wait much longer to make it. I have received a handful of requests from folks who have not received an invitation, but have discovered this website and would really love to participate. (My initial plan was to only send out invitations up until the end of December, and then wait to see who agrees to participate, but I am now feeling like maybe I should extend my deadline for a week and invite a few more before the month disappears on us.) I will be deciding this within the next 48 hours, feel free to leave a comment with your opinion on this matter below…]

I will wait…but not for long.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 2:21 am

    the best things come to those who…

    ps (i say let them send a letter suggesting a project then they have to wait to find out if they are accepted)

    yours waitingly

    Matt

  2. January 6, 2010 8:06 pm

    Jeff,

    To actually receive invitations from strangers tells you two things. First, people are talking about this project. It can be heard “through the grapevine.” Way to go. Second, you are no longer just an idea guy. You have started something, and it is something huge. Way to go times 2.

    I say let them in. I send you a virtual cheers to your creativity and ambition, and now your apparently growing popularity.

    *Clink* (let’s say it’s champagne, why don’t we)

    ~Sarah

  3. Stéphane aka vicuña permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:59 pm

    ha ha, thanks a lot for the video, I remember this ad and it’s a good find for the project!! ;))))

Leave a Reply

