Skip to content

Learn to wait.

January 4, 2010

Let us, then, be up and doing,
With a heart for any fate;
Still achieving, still pursuing,
Learn to labor and to wait

-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Let us, then, be up and doing. These are words that I certainly relate to after 11 days of holiday. I set my alarm for the first time in over a week, yet I woke up 20 minutes before it went off. While I wasn’t quite eager to go in to the office, I did need to quit sleeping in and lazing about. I had had enough of the staying-in-bed thing, and needed to be up and doing.

Learn to labor and to wait. At the end of this stanza, it seems that Longfellow wants us to believe that learning to wait is enough. Not learning to wait for something, just learning to wait. That’s it.

I remember learning to read. I didn’t sit down and decide that I needed to read a specific book. I wasn’t learning to read so that I could cut myself loose from the tyranny of well-intentioned yet tired and impatient parents choosing the wrong bedtime story. I just learned to read. Somethings are important enough that one should just learn them – no justification necessary.

I was slightly obsessive last week with the mail delivery. I watched and waited every day for something to arrive. On the days when we were out, the first thing I did upon arriving home was check the mail box. One day I saw the mailwoman deliver the neighbour’s mail and then walk right by our house. I actually made an audible sound, such was my disappointment. My wife is frequently annoyed with my habits, but not usually exasperated. I’m not sure where she draws the line. Of course, out of the full week and a half that I was off for the Christmas break, the Art of Waiting only produced two exciting deliveries. That might be irony – but I wasn’t a stellar student in English 101, so I may have messed up the definition. Irony or not, I wasn’t too impressed.

Today was not disappointing, now Andrew Kua and Ky Lewis are waiting…

My New Year’s resolution? Learn to wait. How does one do that?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 7:58 am

    Welcome to Andrew and Ky!

  2. January 6, 2010 4:14 pm

    @HolgaJen : Thanks for the welcome. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

