Skip to content

I can’t tell you, it’s a secret

December 21, 2009

Today was my third-last day of work before Christmas, and I followed it up with a trip to the mall with the kids to buy mommy some presents. It’s not too hard to explain waiting to wishful children in mid-December.

There were only two items on our shopping list, and we weren’t planning to browse for anything else, so it should have – in theory –  gone smoothly. First, an unscheduled stop to add gas to an empty tank, then an unscheduled stop to add food to some empty bellies. Then came the emergency potty break. These are my favorite. After protestations against going in to the Mens room (she’s 3…and I’m a man), and instinctive intervention when she almost touched the…well, actually I’m not sure what it was, but I wasn’t going to let her touch it, her brother and I waited outside of the stall for her to finish. And then we waited some more. And then again. And then her brother had to go…

After 1 hour and 15 minutes, we had made our first purchase. The second item on the list was at another store – we arrived there 5 minutes after they closed.

All the way home we practiced saying, “I can’t tell you Mommy, it’s a secret”. Secrets aren’t as hard to keep when you know there’s a time limit. I hope they can wait until Christmas…

"Thanks for the invitation" -Ramon

I arrived home to find three project related letters waiting for me. They arrived from Ramon in Quebec, Jennifer in Ontario, and Jenni in Delaware.

Ramon Terrado included an instant mini photo to share his gratitude for being invited…

With each response that I open, I learn a little more about the people whom I’ve invited to participate. I see their handwriting, I consider the stamps they chose. I most certainly make false assumptions about who they are and what they are like, just as I already did prior to my decision to invite them.
There is no wrong way to fill out the response letter. There is no right way either.

Some of you are probably getting eager to see who the other participants in this project will be… I can’t tell you, it’s a secret. If you’re lucky, you won’t have to wait much past Christmas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2009 1:23 pm

    I didn’t put together my letter to you as thoughtfully as I had hoped, but at least it made it to you in time!! I’m really looking forward to this project 🙂

  2. ipdegirl permalink
    December 27, 2009 4:43 pm

    I originally used a Homer Simpson stamp to send my letter but it wasn’t enough postage so they made me put that boring stamp on your letter. Silly post office and their silly 75 cent stamps.

Trackbacks

  1. the panel o’ photogs increases « the Art of Waiting

Leave a Reply

