Skip to content

threshold

December 18, 2009

noun

  1. door sill
  2. the starting point of an experience, event, or venture
  3. a level or point at which something would happen, would cease to happen, or would take effect, become true

It has been very cold here over the last week.

Sorry to start out with apparent small talk, but seriously, when I woke up on Sunday morning, the weatherman was reporting that our city was the coldest place on the planet. Of course he was wrong – later reports indicated that we were warmer than Siberia. At one point in the afternoon the windchill reached -58.

As I sat in my house over the weekend observing the frozen world through my livingroom window, I noticed a slight draft coming in underneath our character front door. I love our front door, it’s about 50 years old, and it’s different than the rest of the doors on the block, but an unoriginal, uniform, ugly new front door would most certainly keep more heat in our house and more cold outside where it belongs.

I got down on my knees and checked the draft guard that I installed a few years ago…it could use replacing, but that will have to wait until the mercury rises to an “acceptable to open the door for more than 10 seconds” range on the thermometer. We’re still about 30 degrees from that.

I didn’t get home until after 8pm tonight, and as usual I was eager to check the mail. There had been no responses delivered all week, and I just knew there had to be something today. I came in the back door, let the dog out, took off my coat and boots and toque and mitts and scarf, and meandered (quickly) to the front door. I opened it efficiently, crossed the threshold, and extracted the precious envelopes.

I heard about a study today. Someone somewhere devoted some time to determine how long folks will wait. Interesting, non? I eagerly read their summary and discovered that apparently 8 minutes and 22 seconds is about how long folks will wait before turning into a mean green monster machine.  When formulating their hypothesis, the researchers apparently decided that waiting could not have a positive outcome. I’d like to hear more about the folks in the study that didn’t lose it.
They surmise that “The speed of the online world is making us less prepared to wait for things to happen in the offline world”. (The articles I found on this study didn’t report who actually completed the research…reporters couldn’t wait for the details?)

One of the envelopes in today’s mail was a response from a friend of mine in Medford, Oregon. I knew she would want to participate in this project without even having to wait for her reply. Now Sarah Cunningham is waiting to start this venture with us.

Here’s an extract from the visual treat she included in the large envelope…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

